Perspective

by alaanomaly

Today I got to explore Picasso’s work in person at the Picasso Museum in Barcelona. In every tour we take here, we have a tour guide which is extremely helpful since I get to actually learn the background of each painting and artist. Picasso was a wonderfully creative man who I admire even more after seeing his work. I didn’t get to take photos of his work, of course, but I did get some photos around the area!

Pablo Picasso spent his entire life learning how to paint like a child. It’s amazing because normally we train to refine our skills to become professionals but to be like a child is the most difficult state to return to yet the most beautiful. He knew how to paint like a professional or a realist, but to paint like a child took his entire life—a continual growing process.

Man, if Picasso knew it took a lifetime to paint like a child, I should know that it takes a lifetime to have child-like faith. Picasso mastered the foundations and knew it but he understood he would have to consistently work towards painting like a child. God calls us to maturity and knowing the foundations of the gospel, but the greatest faith we strive for is child-like faith. Child-like faith isn’t easy. I have to be growing with Him every day and in the Word but I also have to trust in him like a little girl would her father. I want to ask my daddy questions constantly, ask him to pick me up and carry me, have him guide me through every step, run to him first when I’m distraught, and expect him to be my provider.

Every stroke was so detailed and clearly influenced by every experience he had. This reminded me of how God is so intricately woven into our lives. In every step he is carrying us with every brush stroke even when we don’t realize it. So many times I look back after such a chaotic time in my life and see that He was faithful through it all and orchestrated every stroke for the final product of art. Every stroke, big or small mattered to create a masterpiece in my life that I, at the time, didn’t even realize was being formed. Praise God that He is intricately involved in our lives.

“He is before all things and in him all things hold together” Colossians 1:17

An entire museum dedicated to Picasso’s work, which is so temporary has visitors flocking in to admire his paintings but God has displayed his work even through Picasso’s creativity and in nature itself with every sunrise, so why don’t I flock to see every sunrise He paints? I want to seek even more guidance so I can get to know the paintings and the greatest artist who created the universe! Man, Picasso was an inventive artist, but how much more beautiful is the work of our God who created us? Being in awe of Picasso’s work reminded me of a greater masterpiece. Thank you, Lord for creative minds and beautiful art that you can use to teach me of your beauty, your faithfulness, and your love for me.

“Great are the works of the Lord; they are pondered by all who delight in them.” Psalm 111:2

Oh, and here’s a lovely song about child-like faith!

IMG_5108 IMG_5091 IMG_5085 IMG_5067 IMG_5066

