Can’t hang

by alaanomaly

I just got back from a weekend trip in Cordoba and Sevilla!

My body is exhausted…my feet are throbbing…and I am a hot mess inside and outside. I feel like a grandma because I definitely can’t hang goin’ nonstop and traveling even for a weekend. I know that these are my years of youth and will be my glory days in the future, but I need a day of rest every once in awhile.

A day of rest–That’s what I miss the most being away, even for just 5 weeks. I miss Sundays. Even though I’m in a country that has churches and people are free to worship, I’m not actually able to go to church on Sundays. I’m constantly reminded of what a privilege it is to gather with my brothers and sisters praising God and hearing his voice together. I’m reminded of the privilege we have to be in the presence of God when two or more are gathered. I know that I am not experiencing complete separation from the church, but what the Lord has shown me is the importance of the Sabbath—a day of rest.

We know that on the seventh day God took a day of rest. However, the rest we think of isn’t the rest we are used to like taking a nap or doing nothing. The Hebrew word, shabath translates as ‘rest’ or ‘cease’ meaning that God ceased from his work. Yes, I believe that the Sabbath is meant to reflect on God’s creation but God didn’t need to create the day for himself and call us to follow just because He did. He created the Sabbath for humans. He created us, so he knows what we really need and what we need is Him. In Mark 2:27 it says that “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath”. The Sabbath day doesn’t mean that we need to be lazy all day, but its purpose is for us as humans to cease, to stop our work we are so addicted to and reflect on God’s work in our own lives. We need to fill ourselves again with Him.

“Be still and know that I am God” Psalm 46:10

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

I like to think it’s similar to taking a hike or climbing to the top of a looking point. We work so hard each day in school, in relationships, or in our careers and we are climbing. I was climbing yesterday (after walking all over Sevilla) in the cathedral tower to get to the top where a beautiful looking point was waiting for me. We climb with our feet swollen and sweat rolling down our faces… but why would we ever climb and not take the time to stop and take in the looking point or even snap a few pics? You don’t climb just to come back down again!

As we diligently work through the week  we as human need a break and some rest, but we also need to take in the view. Yes, looking back and how we got there, but taking in the final spot where the Lord has brought you. When you reach a looking point, you are usually in awe. I’m usually in awe of how beautiful the view is and how I can see the entire city or landscape from one small point. God allows us at the end of the week to take a moment from our climbing and enjoy the view of where the Lord has taken us. He gives us rest in that moment and a glimpse of the bigger masterpiece he is creating within us. When we reached the top of the tower my friend kept saying, “the climb was totally worth it for that beautiful view, wasn’t it?”

YES IT WAS! Jesus led by example and actions. He didn’t just tell us to rest and not do it. He rested and says that we should do the same because it’s important for us to gather, to worship, and see what God has done in our lives. Here in Spain, I find myself so weary and exhausted by the end of the week, but when I returned from the weekend trip I was able to take some time and rest, reflecting on all that God had done in my life the past week.

Hebrews 4:9-10 says “There remains, then, a Sabbath-rest for the people of God; for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from his own work, just as God did from his.”

When we take Sundays off to cease from our work, we enter his rest because reflect on his sovereignty and absolute provision. I can say that his rest is the absolute most sufficient form of peace I have ever and will ever experience and it is completely necessary for me and for you. Entering his rest is just  a glimpse of heaven where we will forever be in his rest. So, what does rest look like for you? What is God doing in your life? Take some time to rest in Him, praising Him for that looking point, taking some pictures to capture what He is doing, and enjoying the refreshing and renewing day he has created for us.

I’m going to continue climbing, but climbing with my hands wide open! And rejoicing in Jesus on the way. Praise God for a beautiful weekend and his restoration!

Enjoy Cordoba and Sevilla!

IMG_7062 IMG_1159

Clearly amused by this graffiti and heat
IMG_7039

Cordoba streetsIMG_7177

The Bull Fighting Stadium in Sevilla
IMG_7158

Did some antique/flea market shoppingIMG_7196 IMG_7167 IMG_7166 IMG_7160

IMG_7060IMG_7074 1016673_10151751229021678_549362767_n

Urban Outfitters dresses, Francesca’s necklace

For the weekend, I packed light dresses and wore little accessories knowing that I would be roaming the streets all day and sweating bullets in a few of the hottest cities in Europe.

 

